Twelve Area Students Receive Education and Skilled Trade Scholarships

Twelve area students who are getting ready for occupations in the Dubuque-area workforce have been awarded “Education and Skilled Trade Scholarships” by the Dubuque Area Labor-Management Council.

To show that “there is a future for young people in the tri-state area,” the program is part of the Council’s goal to retain a higher percentage of school graduates in the area workforce and to develop and maintain a highly skilled workforce.

The Education and Skilled Trade Scholarship program is designed to increase awareness about skilled occupations in the Dubuque area where there is a demand for good workers who need specific education or training to qualify for available jobs. Applicants must indicate that they want to work in the Dubuque area following the completion of their education.

Employers and unions may become a sponsor of the program or join the Labor-Management Council to make the immediate families of their employees and members eligible for grant assistance.

Applications for the 2020-2021 school year will be available at the end of the calendar year.

2019 Education Scholarship Recipients:
Reed Snitker to attend the University of Northern Iowa for actuarial science, Carolyn Fink to attend the University of Iowa for teaching, Regan Knopp, Nicole Schilling, and Addison Weber to attend Northeast Iowa Community College for nursing, Brandon Burgess to attend Iowa State for industrial engineering, Anna Schmidt to attend St. Ambrose University for nursing, Abigail Saylor to attend UW-LaCrosse for clinical lab science.

2019 Skilled Trade Scholarship Recipient:
Connor Einsweiler to attend Kirkwood Community College for agricultural diesel mechanic, James Lyon to attend Northeast Iowa Community College for agricultural diesel mechanic, Jacob Besler to attend Northeast Iowa Community College for diesel mechanic, Brock Kruser to attend IBEW’s Electrical Apprenticeship program for journeyman electrician.

Comment here