Initiatives at Clarke University

In line with the CC Today, CU Tomorrow (Community College Today, Clarke University Tomorrow) initiative, Clarke University is excited to announce a new partnership with all 15 community colleges in Iowa effective immediately. The Transfer Major Steering Committee of the Iowa Department of Education recently approved Clarke’s proposal to accept full associate of arts and associate of science degree transfer majors with a two-year completion at Clarke. Each community college now has articulation agreements with Clarke in four to eight of the following transfer majors: Business, Chemistry, English, History, Mathematics, Psychology, Elementary Education, and Secondary Education.

This transfer major partnership grew out of the NICC Today, CU Tomorrow partnership with Northeast Iowa Community College that was announced at the start of 2020. This partnership expands into the 14 remaining Iowa community colleges: Des Moines Area Community College, Eastern Iowa Community College, Hawkeye Community College, Indian Hills Community College, Iowa Central Community College, Iowa Lakes Community College, Iowa Valley Community College, Iowa Western Community College, Kirkwood Community College, North Iowa Area Community College, Northwest Iowa Community College, Southeastern Community College, Southwestern Community College, and Western Iowa Tech Community College.

These new partnerships are adding to the momentum Clarke has built with efforts to streamline transfer pathways. Clarke has established: a policy to accept full associate’s degrees (AA/AS), a system for aiding in reverse transfer, transfer scholarships, special scholarships for Phi Theta Kappa honors society members, and a new Transfer Center on their website to make the research process easier for students looking to continue their education at Clarke.

For a full listing of the accepted transfer majors by community college and other transfer student resources, please visit the website at

Clarke is also offering a new scholarship called Activism and Values Informed Education (AVIE) Clarke Compass Award to students who feel called to make a difference in equity and inclusion. Five undergraduate students will be awarded $3,500 over two semesters. This scholarship is available because of the generous support of Clarke University Trustee and alumnae, Jenifer Westphal ’84.

2020 students receiving the AVIE award and the Compass outcome category they will work within:

  • Hayden DeGross ’21: Spirituality
  • Rashaud Colbert ’21: Professional Preparedness
  • Kylee Allen ’22: Thinking
  • Mariah Pellino ’21: Communication
  • Samantha Wiederholt ’21: Global Awareness and Social Responsibility
  • Desaray Bordner ’23: Global Awareness and Social Responsibility

The Clarke Compass integrates Clarke’s core values, major coursework and general education coursework, and experiential learning to provide students skills they will need in the 21st-century world. It allows students to track experiences they participate in so that when they graduate, they have a tangible, all-inclusive resume of their time spent at Clarke that they can present at employment or graduate school interviews. The Clarke Compass ensures that students are career- and life-ready upon graduation.

Comment here