Home Business & Finance Faces Loras College Announces Two Appointments

Loras College Announces Two Appointments

Donna Heald, Ph.D.

Loras College President Jim Collins has announced the appointment of Donna Heald, Ph.D., as the College’s new vice president of academic affairs. Serving as the College’s chief education officer, Heald will join Loras July 10.

As vice president of academic affairs, Heald will be responsible for providing leadership to all academic programs and personnel. She will also participate in overall planning, implementation, and assessment of college-wide initiatives.

Heald comes to Loras from The Sage Colleges, NY, where she serves as associate provost and a professor. Prior to that, Heald was associate dean for science education and director of pre-health professions advising at Fordham College at Rose Hill, Bronx, NY. She was associate professor at both Siena College, Loudonville, NY, and the University of Scranton (PA). Heald also served as a visiting scholar at Lehigh University, Bethlehem, PA and visiting assistant professor at Middlebury (VT) College and Trinity College, Hartford, CT, respectively.

Loras also announced the appointment of John Sutter as its director of marketing and communications. Sutter returns to Loras after serving as its admissions communication manager from 1999 to 2001.

Sutter comes to Loras after serving as director of marketing and sales for the Dubuque County Historical Society, including the National Mississippi River Museum & Aquarium, National Rivers Hall of Fame, and Mathias Ham House Historic Site.

While at the Museum & Aquarium, Sutter oversaw all earned revenue departments and played key roles in all aspects of its administration, including directing all marketing, public relations, media relations, and sales management. As an organization spokesperson, he has appeared regularly in print and radio and TV programs.

He remains active in a variety of boards and local organizations. He currently chairs the Dubuque Convention and Visitors Bureau Advisory Committee and is president of the America’s River Corp. Board.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here